What the hell happened?

Reanimating the corpse of this newsletter

I last wrote for No Niche back in November.

A few things have changed since.

  • I started foundersowl.com - my first start-up inspired by a desire to help founders of new and mid growth companies identify their customers. Also inspired by my disdain for corporate 9-5 life.

  • I made £134.88 in 20 sales! 👇

  • You’re telling me I can monetize my skills from a 12+ yr career in the financial industry?

Crikey.

  • I even started putting it into my indie dev pot. This cannot be touched until I reach £10k.

  • I was, and am still, invested in creating my first SaaS - CoWritePal

  • However, there was an opportunity to pivot. So pivot I did.

The essence of No Niche is still the same - sharing my progress on transitioning to a solopreneur lifestyle with complete honesty, and sharing how to use career gifted skills to turbo charge a startup.

Opportunities. Failures. Risks.

I want you to know all of these if you’re a 9-5er like me, just starting out, or have an established solopreneur career. There’s plenty of cake to go round.

One tweak for No Niche will be prioritising the sharing of startup & technology trends globally and in specific countries. Why? Cos’ there are many ways founders of all walks and sectors can capitalise on these opportunities.

I’ve done this for my entire career, and have doubled down on this research in my consultancy side hustle, Founders Owl. I love it.

I’ll share opportunities & risks in different industries so you can overcome problems with your business - whether that’s clunky processes, a stagnant product, or having too broad of a target audience. I’ll be there.

I’ll also be live sharing best practise and lessons learnt from my 8 day old start up (🦉)

Without any further rambling… here’s 1 interesting thing happening in the world 🌍

Low Code / No Code Surge Down Under 🦘 

Plug and play SaaS platforms are the new craze. As software devs and ego driven maniacs (including myself), we think that we HAVE to craft every line of code into our products. It’s an ego thing for me.

Customers don’t care. As long as it gets the job done. They’re not arsed if it’s built in JavaScript by your weary hands or spun up in 2 days by a guy drinking monster in his underwear.

The Aussies are catching on. A lack of skilled software dev talent combined with an influx of outsourced work is causing a supply & demand issue.

Enter: Low / No Code - software that is customisable and out the box. It’s the solution for a quicker speed to market for suppliers & buyers of software.

Predictions (save & send back to me when the complete opposite happens) 😁

1/ A new skillset will be carved out, focusing on Low Code / No Code ecosystem design (I.e. not just websites, but interactions between landing pages, storefronts and mobile apps)

2/ Niche Software dev talent shortage will increase, causing a shift in company tech strategy to be centered around speed and unique differentiation in Low Code / No Code

3/ Customer demand analytics and trends will become top priority for Low Code / No Code implementation given the relative simplicity of setting up this software vs coding platforms from scratch. This means consultancy expertise and customer behaviour analytics will be extremely important to create unique competitive advantages in the Low Code / No Code landscape for Aussie companies and their clients.

Note: this is a global trend. The U.S. has seen an estimated 77% of companies adopt Low \ No Code platforms. 🇺🇸 

What can you do? Start thinking about how to incorporate this into your product offering - whether that’s quicker development time for you, or quicker supply of services to customers in Australia or US.

~ over and out 🫡 

Reply

or to participate.